PR Sreejesh nominated for 2016 FIH Best Goalkeeper of the Year award

no photo

© Getty

PR Sreejesh nominated for 2016 FIH Best Goalkeeper of the Year award

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Indian Men’s Hockey Skipper PR Sreejesh and star defender Harmanpreet Singh have been nominated for the 2016 Goalkeeper of the Year award and 2016 men’s Rising Star of the Year respectively. The name of the winners will be announced in January next year.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) have declared the nominees for the 2016 Hockey Stars Awards during the Hockey Revolution Part 2 Conference in Dubai. The programme is the annual prize giving ceremony where the best players, goalkeepers, rising stars, coaches, and umpires are recognized for a given calendar year.

Despite winning the silver medal at the Champions Trophy and securing the Gold at the Asian Champions Trophy, no Indians have found their name in the nominees for Best player of the year award. The exclusion of Rupinder Pal Singh, who has been in dazzling form this season, appears questionable.

The winners will be decided by the combined results of an online vote that is open to the public and a peer vote from international athletes. Voting for players, goalkeepers, and rising stars will open on November 16 and close on December 2. 

The 2016 Umpire Award winners, one male and one female, will be selected by the FIH Umpiring Committee.

2016 Player of the Year nominations

Women: Carla Rebecchi (ARG); Kate Richardson-Walsh (GBR); Stacey Michelsen (NZL); Alex Danson (GBR); Naomi van As (NED).

Men: Gonzalo Peillat (ARG); John-John Dohmen (BEL); Moritz Fürste (GER); Tobias Hauke (GER); Pedro Ibarra (ARG).

2016 Goalkeeper of the Year nominations

Women: Maddie Hinch (GBR); Joyce Sombroek (NED); Kristina Reynolds (GER); Jackie Briggs (USA); Belen Succi (ARG).

Men: Juan Vivaldi (ARG); Jaap Stockmann (NED); Vincent Vanasch (BEL); David Harte (IRL); Parattu Raveendran Sreejesh (IND)

2016 Rising Star of the Year nominations (Players under 23)

Women: Maria Granatto (ARG); Lily Owsley (GBR); Nike Lorenz (GER); Kathryn Slattery (AUS); Florencia Habif (ARG).

Men: Arthur van Doren (BEL); Christopher Rühr (GER); Jorrit Croon (NED); Harmanpreet Singh (IND); Timm Herzbruch (GER).

2016 Coach of the Year nominations

Women: Alyson Annan (AUS); Karen Brown (GBR); Janneke Schopman (USA).

Men: Carlos Retegui (ARG); Danny Kerry (GBR); Shane McLeod (BEL).

La Liga FANS! Can You Predict The Game? Join & Win Cash Prizes Today!

Join & Play NOW! Click here here to download Nostra Pro & get ₹20 Joining Bonus!

Win cash daily by predicting the right result on Nostragamus. Click here to download the game on Android! To know more, visit