Indian women register easy victory to complete series whitewash

Indian women register easy victory to complete series whitewash

no photo

An unbeaten 43 from Smriti Mandhana and a three wicket-haul from spinner Ekta Bisht helped Indian women’s cricket team register a nine-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in the third T20 to win the series 3-0. Chasing 90, India strolled home in 14 overs and losing just one wicket in the process.

Brief Scores: Sri Lanka 89/9 in 20 overs (Lokusuriyage 25(22), Ekta Bisht 3/17, Anuja Patil 2/19) lost to India 91/1 in 13.5 overs (Smriti Mandhana 43*(43), Vellaswamy Vanitha 34(25), Chamari Atapattu 1/19) by nine wickets

After winning the toss, Sri Lanka captain Shashikala Siriwardene decided to bat first in the dead rubber contest. However, her decision went horribly wrong when spinner Anuja Patil removed opener Oshadi Ranasinghe in the fourth ball of the innings. The skipper followed Oshadi Ranasinghe back to the pavilion after four more balls, falling to a throw from Deepti Sharma. Struggling at 2/2 in the second over, the away side received some much-needed runs from the 33-run partnership between opener Chamari Atapattu and Nipuni Hansika.

But, a flighted one from left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht spun away from Hansika to catch her out of the crease, which ended the partnership for the fourth wicket. Three more wickets fell in quick succession and the Lankans were looking down the barrel at 46/7 in the 15th over. Ama Kanchana and Eshani Lokusuriyage came together for the eighth wicket and formed a 39-run partnership to take the team to some sort of respectability. Kanchana departed in the last over as Sri Lanka finished at 89/9 in the 20 overs. For India, Ekta Bisht took three wickets, while Anuja Patil chipped in with two wickets to decimate the Lankan batting line-up.

(Read about Indian women's cricket team's victory in the second T20 - Mithali Raj’s fifty guides Indian women’s team to series win)

Chasing an easy total of 90, Indian openers Smriti Mandhana and Vellaswamy Vanitha raced away from the start and looked in a hurry to finish the match. The duo took the Sri Lanka bowlers to the cleaners smashing them to all parts of the boundary to cross the fifty-run mark in just seven overs. However, Chamari Atapattu removed Vellaswamy Vanitha, for a well made 34, in the ninth over to bring an end to the 64-run opening partnership. Veda Krishnamurthy and Mandhana added the remaining runs and strolled to victory in 14 overs to win the third T20, and complete a 3-0 whitewash over the Lankans.

(The end of the 'Whistlepodu' era - A trip down the memory lane on CSK's eight-year journey)

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all