user tracker image

Hero Indian Open | Focus on Shubhankar Sharma as India look to retain title

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Getty images

Hero Indian Open | Focus on Shubhankar Sharma as India look to retain title

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


With the Hero Indian Open golf tournament scheduled to begin from Thursday, March 8, all eyes will be on Indian golf sensation Shubhankar Sharma as India will look to retain their crown again. He recently won an invitation to the master's tournament scheduled to be played later this year.

With the Hero Indian Open golf tournament set to begin from tomorrow, India will look to retain the crown that Shiv Chawrasia won last year with the main focus being on Shubhankar Sharma this year. The Indian golfer has been in stellar form over the last one year as he has won he has won 2 Asian Tour, 2 European Tour titles and a Sunshine Tour title.

The 21-year-old golfer finished a respectable 9th in the Mexico World Golf Championships after leading the scoreboard for the second and third rounds. For his superb show, he has also won an invitation to the Masters' tournament scheduled to take place later this year.

Sharma will lead India’s charge to the crown but will be well supported by  2015 winner Anirban Lahiri, three-time -time Asian Tour winner Shiv Kapur and defending champion Chawrasia.

Kapur, who recently won the Yeangder Heritage after an eleven-year drought and further won the Panasonic Open and the Royals cup is confident of putting up a good show in the upcoming Indian Open tournament.

"I will play more attacking golf this year than last year because since it is a tough course, we tend to play more defensive. I think if I come out with an attack, I might make some bogeys but I will end up making few birdies as well. But if I am defensive and have a bunch of pars and a big number might hit you," said Kapur reported PTI

The tournament will also feature Darren Clarke, 2011 winner at the Indian Open and winner of two other WGC events. The tournament will also see the likes of the former world top 10 ranked player, Thomas Bjorn, who has won 21 career titles.

The other world-renowned players set to participate in the tournament are Emiliano Grillo of Argentina, Britain's Andrew Johnston, Thailand's Thongchai Jaidee and Siddikur Rahman from Bangladesh.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here