user tracker image

PBL 2018 | Carolina Marin to face-off against PV Sindhu in season opener

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

PBL 2018 | Carolina Marin to face-off against PV Sindhu in season opener

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Top shuttlers, Carolina Marin and PV Sindhu, are scheduled to go up against each other in the season opener of this year’s Pro Badminton League in Mumbai on December 22. Left-handed Marin will represent new franchise Pune Aces while Sindhu will turn out for the Hyderabad Hunters side.

This year’s Pro Badminton League will see two new franchises added to the list of existing seven teams as the league continues its expansion plans. The fourth season of the PBL will see Spain’s Carolina Marin go up against India’s PV Sindhu in the season opener which will be held in Mumbai on December 22.

Marin, who was bought by debutant franchise Pune Aces at the PBL auction, will face-off against PV Sindhu of Hyderabad Hunters. Incidentally, Marin was previously part of the Hyderabad-based franchise in the previous edition of the tournament and helped them win the title last year.

In addition to that, Syed Modi International champion Sameer Verma will represent the Mumbai Rockets who begin their campaign in Mumbai on December 23. Badminton lovers will await the Pune leg as they will witness yet another marque clash between PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal when Hyderabad Hunters meet North Eastern Warriors on the New Year's day.

Former world champion Viktor Axelsen-led Ahmedabad Smash Masters are scheduled to start their home campaign against Awadhe Warriors and will later face-off against the defending champions - Hyderabad Hunters.

The Indian sporting spectacle would witness 30 matches being played including seven double headers this season. Each city will be host one double header however, Pune and Ahmedabad will play host to two double headers.

The 23-day will see a total of nine teams - Delhi Dashers, Ahmedabad Smash Masters, Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Raptors, Mumbai Rockets, Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Smashes, North Eastern Warriors and Pune Aces battle it out for a grand prize of Rs 6 crore.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey