user tracker image

Atul Wassan named DDCA senior selection committee chairman

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Atul Wassan named DDCA senior selection committee chairman

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Former Indian pacer Atul Wassan was named the chairman of the senior selection committee of the Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) on Wednesday. The three-member committee headed by Wassan will comprise Anil Bharadwaj and Vineet Jain as the other two members for the upcoming season.

Ahead of the 2019/20 season, the DDCA is undergoing changes to the senior and junior selection committees, and some tweaks with the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium. 

Back in 2016, Wassan was sacked as chairman of the senior selection committee after the management received persistent complaints regarding his alleged commercial engagements. However, the 51-year-old was re-appointed as chairman for the 2017-18 season, in which Delhi finished runners-up in the Ranji Trophy. His fellow members in the committee are both former domestic level cricketers. Bhardwaj played 40 matches for Orissa from 1975 to 1987 aggregating 1624 runs, while Jain, a medium-pacer, played first-class cricket for Haryana and Tripura in a career spanning15 years.

The DDCA also announced the appointment of Mayank Tehlan as the chairman of the junior selection committee which will look after the U-19/U-16/U-14 age-group boys. The three-member committee also consists of Chetan Sharma and Pradeep Chawla.

Meanwhile, the DDCA had announced, on Tuesday, that the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium will be renamed as Arun Jaitley Stadium in tribute to the former finance minister who passed away recently. The renaming, set to take place on September 12, will also see a stand named after India skipper Virat Kohli.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here