Sania Mirza to lead Indian team in Fed Cup

no photo

All India Tennis Association (AITA) announced on Monday that World No. 1 Sania Mirza will lead the Indian team for next year’s Fed Cup. The AITA selection panel also announced the two six-member squads for the upcoming South Asian Games, scheduled to commence on February 6, next year in Guwahati and Shillong.

The selection panel headed by S P Misra selected the four-member team for the Asia/Oceania Group I matches in Fed Cup, to be held in Hua Hin, Thailand from February 3 to 5. Sania Mirza along with Ankita Raina, national champion Prerna Bhambri and Prarthana Thombare makes up the four-member team. Karman Kaur Thandi has been named the reserve player.

Captained by Sania, the Indian team was promoted to Group I after a good campaign in 2015, and next on the team’s agenda will be a place in the World Group II Play-offs.

The six-member men’s and women’s squad for the South Asian Games was also announced on Monday with Saketh Myneni, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Sanam Singh, Vijay Sundar Prashanth, Purav Raja and Divij Sharan making up the men’s squad. Zeeshan Ali will be the coach of the men's team.

The women’s squad will comprise Ankita, Prerna, Rishika Sunkara, Natasha Palha, Prarthana and Sharrmadaa Baluu with Shalini Thakur Chawla as the coach.

Get updates! Follow us on

    Open all