Yogeshwar spearheads Indian wrestling squad for Asian Olympic Qualifiers

Yogeshwar spearheads Indian wrestling squad for Asian Olympic Qualifiers

no photo

The Indian squad for upcoming Asian Olympic Qualification tournament, which is scheduled to be held in Kazakhstan from March 18 to March 20, has been announced. The 17-member squad consists of 11 male and 6 female wrestlers, including stars like Yogeshwar Dutt, Vinesh Phogat and Babita Kumari.

The men’s team contains five freestyle wrestlers and six who will feature in the Greco-Roman category. Olympic medallist Yogeshwar Dutt will shoulder most of the expectations, and is expected to qualify after missing the chance to do so from the World Championship last year due to an injury.

Narsingh Yadav is the only Indian wrestler who has already booked his place in the Rio Olympics, in the 74 kg division, from the World Championship.

In the women’s team, the Phogat sisters are expected to put up good performances in the 48 kg category and 53 kg category respectively.

The Indian team will have two more opportunities to book their tickets for Rio in case they miss out at Astana. After Astana, they will head to Mongolia for the 1st World Qualification tournament, scheduled to be held from April 20 to April 24, followed by the 2nd World Qualification tournament in Istanbul, scheduled to be held from May 6 to May 8.


Freestyle: Rahul Aware (57kg), Yogeshwar Dutt (65kg), Somveer (86kg), Satyawart Kadiyan (97kg), Hitender (125kg). Greco-Roman: Ravinder Singh (59kg), Ravinder (66kg), Gurpreet Singh (75kg), Ravinder Khatri (85kg), Hardeep Singh (98kg), Naveen (130kg). Female wrestling: Vinesh Phogat (48kg), Babita Kumari (53kg), Sakshi Malik (58kg), Anita (63kg), Navjot Kaur (67kg), Kiran (75kg).

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all