PBL 2017 | Jayaram beats Axelsen as Mumbai maintain lead at top

PBL 2017 | Jayaram beats Axelsen as Mumbai maintain lead at top

no photo


© Getty Images

Ajay Jayaram shocked World No 3 Viktor Axelsen 11-8, 11-9, as Mumbai Rockets defeated Bengaluru Blasters 4-1 to maintain their 2-point lead over Awadhe Warriors at the top of the PBL points table. In the other match, Delhi Acers defeated Chennai Smashers 5-2, but remained at the bottom of the pile.

In the opening clash of the Mumbai-Bengaluru tie, Sourabh Verma raced to an 8-1 lead against HS Prannoy before sealing the first game 11-4. However, Prannoy come back hard to win the second 11-6 and was pretty much unstoppable in the decider that he won 11-3 to put his team ahead.

In men’s doubles, the pair of Yoo Yeon Seong and Ko Sung-hyun beat Lee Yong Dae and Nipithphon Phuangphuapet of Mumbai in three sets. The Korean pair took a 7-1 lead in the opening game before Dae and Phuangphuapet won five points in a row to make it 7-6. However, Seong and Sung-hyun held their nerves to win 11-7.

The second game a tight affair as well but the Mumbai duo won three points in a row to win 11-7 and take the clash into the decider. The Korean pair won it 11-5 to restore parity in the tie at 1-1.

Bengaluru chose Axelsen as their trump but Jayaram stunned the Dane to help Mumbai regain the lead at 2-0. Mumbai’s trump Sung Ji-hyun then defeated Cheung Ngan Yi 11-7, 11-8 to give her side an unassailable 4-0 lead.

Bengaluru did get a consolatory win in the final game when Ko Sung-hyun and Sikki Reddy defeated Nipithphon Phuangphuapet and Nadiezda Zieba 11-6, 11-7 in mixed doubles.


Bengaluru Blasters 1-4 Mumbai Rockets

Sourabh Verma 11-4, 6-11, 3-11 HS Prannoy

Ko Sung-Hyun Yoo/ Yeon Seong 11-7, 7-11, 11-5 Lee Yong Dae/ Nipithphon Phuangphuapet

(T)Viktor Axelsen 8-11, 9-11 Ajay Jayaram

Cheung Ngan Yi 7-11, 8-11 Sung Ji Hyun (T)

Ko Sung-Hyun/ Sikki Reddy 11-6, 11-7 Nipithphon Phuangphuapet/ Nadiezda Zieba

Delhi Acers 5-2 Chennai Smashers

Jan O Jorgensen 10-12, 11-4, 11-6 Tommy Sugiarto

Jwala Gutta/ Vladimir Ivanov 7-11, 11-4, 11-9 Chris Adcock/ P V Sindhu

Son Wan Ho 12-10, 11-4 P Kashyap

(T) Vladimir Ivanov/ Ivan Sozonov 11-6, 11-6 Chris Adcock/ Mads Pieler Kolding

Tanvi Lad 6-11, 7-11 P V Sindhu (T)

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all