user tracker image

IPL 2020 |  SRH release Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan; retain David Warner

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


IPL 2020 |  SRH release Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan; retain David Warner

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


On the last day of release of the Indian Premier League 2020, the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise has released five players including the banned Shakib Al Hasan. Apart from the suspended cricketer, Yusuf Pathan, Martin Guptill, Deepak Hooda and Ricky Bhui have been released from the squad.

Ahead of the IPL 2020 auctions, to be held in Kolkata on December 19, the Hyderabad-based franchise announced their list of retained players. The franchise released Indian hard-hitter Yusuf Pathan, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, New Zealand opener Martin Guptill, all-rounder Deepak Hooda and Under 19 batsman Ricky Bhui from the squad. 

In all of the list, the most obvious release was the Shakib one as the Bangladesh captain has been banned by the ICC for one year. Apart from Shakib, the SRH releasing Hooda and Pathan was also foreseen as the said cricketers were struggling with form in the last season. 

Meanwhile, New Zealand’s Martin Guptill did not get too many chances in the last season, and with a major dip in form in international cricket, he has been overlooked for the franchise’s future season.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s retained list of players: Kane Williamson, David Warner, Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Shahbaz Nadeem, Billy Stanlake, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey