Matthew Breetzke called up, Marco Jansen rested as South Africa announces Test squad against West Indies

no photo

South Africa has announced its squad for the upcoming Test series against the West Indies, with exciting new talent and strategic player management in focus. Batter Matthew Breetzke has received his maiden Test call-up while their left-arm pacer Marco Jansen has been rested for the two-match series.

Cricket South Africa unveiled a 16-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series in the West Indies, with Temba Bavuma leading the squad. 

Wicketkeeper batter Ryan Rickelton, who was a part of the Proteas squad in the ICC World T20, makes his return to red-ball cricket for the first time since South Africa hosted the West Indies in March 2023.  Additionally, Matthew Breetzke is set to debut for the Proteas side after a thumping performance in last season’s domestic four-day competition with 322 runs at an average of 46. Breetzke will also lead South Africa A in a four-day match against India A in December this year. 

Meanwhile, Marco Jansen has been rested for the series. Red-ball head coach Shukri Conrad said in a statement, “The decision to rest Marco Jansen was taken to allow for a conditioning period aimed at ensuring optimal physical and mental well-being given the season-long workloads.”

Focusing on the World Test Championship, Conrad added, “This tour is extremely important for us as we aim to improve our standing in the ICC World Test Championship. We have therefore selected our strongest possible squad and look forward to strong performances in the Caribbean.”

The first Test is scheduled to take place from August 7 to 11 at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago. The second Test will follow from August 15 to 19 at the Guyana National Stadium in Guyana. 

South Africa test series squad against West Indies: Temba Bavuma (c), David Bedingham, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony De Zorzi, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verreynne. 


Get updates! Follow us on

Open all