FIH Women's Series Finals | Hockey India names 18-member to travel to Hiroshima

FIH Women's Series Finals | Hockey India names 18-member to travel to Hiroshima

no photo

Hockey India has named an 18-member women’s squad to travel to Japan, Hiroshima for the FIH Women's Series Finals 2019. While Rani has been named the captain of the squad, Savita has been given the responsibility of the vice-captain while midfielder Nisha would be making her international debut.

New Delhi, 29 May 2019: Hockey India on Wednesday named the 18-member Indian Women's Hockey team for the forthcoming FIH Women's Series Finals Hiroshima 2019 scheduled to begin on 15 June 2019. The Indian team will be Captained by Rani and Vice-Captained by Savita. 

Grouped in Pool A along with Poland, Uruguay and Fiji, India will begin their campaign on the opening day against Uruguay while Pool B features 18th Asian Games Gold Medalist Japan, Chile, Russia and Mexico.

Experienced goalkeeper Savita and Rajani Etimaru will guard India's goalpost while defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Nisha, Gurjit Kaur, Salima Tete and Sunita Lakra have been named in the squad. Midfielders Monika, Nikki Pradhan, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam have been called-up while the forward-line features Rani, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami and Jyoti. 

"We have a good balanced team with youth and experienced players. Nisha is replacing injured Reena Khokar in the midfield and she has shown in training that she is worthy of the position and executes her role and sticks to the tasks as expected. She makes her International debut and I believe she will do well," expressed Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne about the team selected for the event. 

Speaking about the team's preparedness, Marijne said, "We have had good preparations, having played against different styles during our tour to Spain, Malaysia and Republic of Korea. We have done everything we could do to be well-prepared and now we will focus on getting off to a good start against Uruguay."  

Indian Team: 

Goalkeepers: 1. Savita (Vice Captain), 2. Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: 3. Deep Grace Ekka, 4. Nisha, 5. Gurjit Kaur, 6. Salima Tete, 7. Sunita Lakra

Midfielders: 8. Monika, 9. Nikki Pradhan, 10. Lilima Minz, 11. Neha Goyal, 12. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

Forwards:  13. Rani (Captain), 14. Vandana Katariya, 15. Navjot Kaur, 16. Navneet Kaur, 17. Lalremsiami, 18. Jyoti

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all