user tracker image

Ajinkya Rahane to lead Rest of India in Irani Cup tie against Vidarbha

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Ajinkya Rahane to lead Rest of India in Irani Cup tie against Vidarbha

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


The BCCI selection committee has named Ajinkya Rahane as the captain of the Rest of India team for the upcoming ZR Irani Cup game to be played against Ranji Trophy winners – Vidarbha. The Irani Cup will be played from February 12 to 16 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur.

After Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs on the final day to lift the Ranji Trophy title at their home venue in Nagpur, the BCCI has declared the Rest of India team today. Mumbai batsman is going to lead the team which also includes senior players like Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari and Shreyas Iyer. Jharkhand’s Ishan Kishan will take up the responsibility as the wicket-keeper of the team which also includes Snell Patel from Saurashtra. 

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the Rest of India squad for the Patym Z R Irani Cup to be played against Vidarbha, winners of the Paytm Ranji Trophy 2018-19 in Nagpur from February 12-16,” read the BCCI press release.

Some top performers from this year’s Ranji Trophy have been given a chance to represent the Rest of India side in the prestigious match which the Vidarbha Cricket Association is scheduled to host from February 12 in Nagpur. Saurashtra slow left-armer Dharmendrasinh Jadeja and Kerala pacer Sandeep Warrier have been rewarded for their consistency in the season along with players like Ronit More, Krishnappa Gowtham, Tanveer Ul Haq and others. 

Rest of India squad:Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Anmolpreet Singh, Hanuma Vihari, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Krishnappa Gowtham, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ankit Rajpoot, Tanveer Ul-Haq, Ronit More, Sandeep Warrier, Rinku Singh, Snell Patel

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here