Batkhuyag Munguntuul claims top honors in women grandmaster chess championship in Mumbai

no photo

Batkhuyag Munguntuul claims top honors in women grandmaster chess championship in Mumbai

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Top-seeded International Master Batkhuyag Munguntuul from Mongolia lived up to her reputation to claim the top honors in the women grandmaster chess championship at the Acres Club in Mumbai. Indian International Master Srija Seshadri fought hard to finish third place in the championship.

The 30-year-old Batkhuyag Munguntuul (ELO 2410), who was in second at the end of the 10th and penultimate round, scored a decisive win against Russian International Master Elena Tomilova (ELO 2334) in the final round to win the women grandmaster chess championship in Mumbai.

The Mongolian finished with a winning tally of eight points after overnight leader Kazakhstan’s Grand Master Guliskhan Nakhbayeva (ELO 2323) slipped at the last hurdle, losing to talented Indian International Master Srija Seshadri (ELO 2207). The 26-year-old Guliskhan with 7.5 points in the kitty had to settle for second place.

Seshadri pulled out another fine performance to defeat the higher-rated Kazak player. With a cumulative tally of seven points, she finished at a creditable third position. Vietnam’s Grand Master Thi Kim Phung Vo (ELO 2376), who was held to a draw by Indian International Master Vantika Agrawal (ELO 2279) was placed fourth, also with 7 points.

International Master Aakanksha Hagawane (6.5 points), International Master Vantika Agrawal and Monnisha GK, both with 5.5 points each, finished in fifth, sixth and seventh positions respectively. Munguntuul was presented with the winner’s purse of Rs 1.60 lakh, while Guliskhan had to be content with the runner-up prize of Rs 1.30 lakh. India’s Seshadri earned a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

Final standings:

1.Batkhuyag Munguntuul (MGL, ELO 2410) 8 pts, 2. WGM Guliskhan Nakhbayeva (KAZ, 2323) 7.5 pts, 3. WIM Srija Seshadri (IND, 2207) 7 pts, 4. WGM Thi Kim Phung Vo (VIE, 2376) 7 pts, 5. WIM Aakanksha Hagawane (IND, 2297) 6.5 pts, 6. WIM Vantika Agrawal (IND, 2279) 5.5 pts, 7. WIM Monnisha G.K. (IND, 2295) 5.5 pts, 8. WGM Gulrukhbegim Tokhirjonova (UZB, 2379) 5.5 pts, 9. WIM Elena Tomilova (RUS, 2334) 5 pts, 10. IM Anna Zozulia (BEL, 2314) 4.5 pts, 11. WFM Divya Deshmukh (IND, 2138) 3.5 pts, 12. Rakshitta Ravi (IND, 2067) 0.5 pts.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey