India's squad for the test match against Afghanistan announced!

no photo


Ajinkya Rahane to lead India against Afghanistan; Karun Nair and Kuldeep Yadav in the mix

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Test deputy Ajinkya Rahane is set to lead the Indian national team in the one off Test against Afghanistan in the latter’s first-ever Test match at the international level. Karun Nair and Kuldeep Yadav have also been added to the squad along with R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja for the Bengaluru Test.

Team India will play host to the newest member of the ICC recognised Test teams, Afghanistan, in their first official Test match which will be held in June this year. The BCCI selectors have revealed the final 15-man squad of players that will participate in this historic game.

After skipper Virat Kohli opted to gain some playing time in England as he secured a stint with Surrey, the selectors turned to vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane to lead the side against Afghanistan. The selectors have decided to rest the likes of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar who were involved in the long tour of South Africa earlier this year.

Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara and pacer Ishant Sharma, who were both overlooked for the IPL this year and are currently playing in the English County league, will make the trip from England as they were included in the 15-man squad. KXIP batsman Karun Nair and KKR wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav were also added to the squad based on their recent exploits.

Squad: Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey