reportbadminton5 days ago

PBL 2017 | Chennai Smashers beat Mumbai Rockets to the trophy in thrilling final

PV Sindhu's Chennai Smashers defeated Mumbai Rockets 4-3 in what turned out to be a classic final to win their maiden PBL title in New Delhi on Saturday. Sindhu beat Sung-Ji Hyun in the women's singles trump match, while Ajay Jayaram was unable to win it for Mumbai in a tense final match.
SportsCafe Desk
reportbadminton6 days ago

PBL 2017 | Mumbai to play Chennai for title in Delhi

Mumbai Rockets continued their impressive display in the second season of the PBL qualifying for the finals after they beat a Carolina Marin-led Hyderabad Hunters in the semi-final. The Rockets will be joined by Chennai Smashers, who breezed past the Awadhe Warriors in the other semi-final.
SportsCafe Desk
featurebadminton7 days ago

Premier Badminton League | Best duels of PBL 2017 so far

The current edition of the Premier Badminton League has provided us with some exciting moments - be it upsets or just sheer entertainment. Deciding games were necessary for picking the winner of quite a few match-ups, and the last semi-final place was confirmed in the final match of the group stage.
SportsCafe Desk
reportbadminton7 days ago

PBL 2017 | Marin helps Hyderabad seal semi-final spot

Spanish women’s world No 2 Carolina Marin and Indian national champion Sameer Verma won crucial matches to help set up Hyderabad Hunters’ 5-2 win over Delhi Acers in the Premier Badminton League. Hyderabad joined Awadhe Warriors, Chennai Smashers and Mumbai Rockets to complete the semi-final line-up
SportsCafe Desk
newsbadminton8 days ago

"We broke the Chinese wall," Marin commends Sindhu and Saina

Reigning Olympic Champion Carolina Marin has said that, along with the Indian duo of Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu, she broke the Chinese dominance in the sport of badminton. The Spaniard also added that she was confident Nehwal would be able to get back to her best once she regains her full fitness.
SportsCafe Desk
newsbadminton8 days ago

Indian badminton players criticize PBL's eleven point system

Indian ace PV Sindhu has been critical of the eleven point format, currently used in the PBL, stating that the players don't get enough time to strategize in the short format. Other Indian players Saina Nehwal and Jwala Gutta had also said that the new system is not as effective as the longer one.
SportsCafe Desk
reportbadminton8 days ago

PBL 2017 | Saina-less Awadhe lose 3-4 to Sindhu's Chennai

A day after beating the Mumbai Rockets to secure passage into the last four of the tournament, the Chennai Smashers condemned the Awadhe Warriors to a defeat in their last group game of the league stage. Having topped the group, Awadhe rested Saina Nehwal to keep her ready for the knockout games.
SportsCafe Desk
reportbadminton9 days ago

PBL 2017 | Chennai defeat Mumbai to book last-four spot

Chennai Smashers rode on wins by Tommy Sugiarto and the husband-wife pair of Chris Adcock and Gabriella Adcock to edge out Mumbai Rockets 4-3 and book a place in the last-four stage of the Premier Badminton League. Rockets and Awadhe Warriors have already secured semi-final spots.
SportsCafe Desk
reportbadminton10 days ago

PBL 2017 | Nehwal and Srikanth help Awadhe Warriors seal semi-final slot

Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth helped Awadhe Warriors seal a place in the semi-finals of the Premier Badminton League-2 by defeating Cheung Ngan Yi and Viktor Axelsen respectively in the clash against Bengaluru Blasters.
SportsCafe Desk
reportbadminton11 days ago

PBL 2017 | Jayaram beats Axelsen as Mumbai maintain lead at top

Ajay Jayaram shocked World No 3 Viktor Axelsen 11-8, 11-9, as Mumbai Rockets defeated Bengaluru Blasters 4-1 to maintain their 2-point lead over Awadhe Warriors at the top of the PBL points table. In the other match, Delhi Acers defeated Chennai Smashers 5-2, but remained at the bottom of the pile.
SportsCafe Desk