Virat Kohli wins WC player of the tournament award

no photo

Image Courtesy: © Twitter - ICC

Virat Kohli wins WC player of the tournament award

no photo

Arun S Kaimal


Indian vice-captain Virat Kohli won the Player of the Tournament award at the World T20 on Sunday after scoring 273 runs at an average of 136.5. Kohli also became the first cricketer to win the award twice after securing the same at the 2014 World T20 in Bangladesh, where India finished runners-up.

Kohli, who is the No.1 batsman in World T20 rankings, took India single-handedly to the semi-finals with match-winning knocks against Pakistan and Australia. In the semi-final against West Indies, Kohli scored an unbeaten knock of 89 off 47 balls and also took the wicket of Johnson Charles, but he ended up on the losing side after West Indies won the match by seven wickets.

Kohli was unanimously selected as the winner by a group of former cricketers and commentators. Kohli had secured the award in the 2014 World T20 in Bangladesh scoring 319 runs in six matches at an average of 106.33 to help India reach the final.

Kohli is the fifth cricketer to win the award at the World T20 with Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan (2007), Shahid Afridi of Pakistan (2009), Kevin Pietersen of England (2010) and Australia’s Shane Watson (2012) winning the coveted prize in the previous editions.  

(Take a look at our World T20 Flop XI - The big names that disappointed

What will be Carlos Brathwaite's Strike Rate?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the CPL challenge and win cash prizes daily!!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->