2017 Champions Trophy schedule announced | India and Pakistan in same group

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

© ICC Twitter

2017 Champions Trophy schedule announced | India and Pakistan in same group

no photo

Arun S Kaimal


Defending Champions India and arch-rivals Pakistan will face each other in the group stages of the 2017 Champions Trophy after both teams were drawn together in the same group. Sri Lanka and South Africa are the other two teams in India’s group for the tournament in England.

India, who won the last edition of the tournament back in 2013, will start their campaign for the 2017 edition against their traditional rivals Pakistan at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on June 4, 2017. The 18-day tournament is scheduled to be held from June 1 to 18, and the final will take place at the Oval.

Australia, New Zealand, England, and Bangladesh are in Group A, while India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka make up the Group B. The top eight sides of the ICC ODI rankings – as of 2015 September 30 – qualified for the tournament, with the World Champions seeded as number one. The top two sides from each of the groups progress to the semi-finals before the final in Oval on June 18.

India and Pakistan last played each other in the group stage of 2016 ICC World T20 in March at the Eden Gardens, where the Men in Blue registered a six-wicket victory. India had won the last edition of the Champions Trophy defeating hosts England by 5 runs at the final in Birmingham in 2013.

Event schedule:

Thurs, 1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d)

Fri, 2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)

Sat, 3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d)

Sun, 4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d)

Mon, 5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n)

Tues, 6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d)

Wed, 7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n)

Thurs, 8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d)

Fri, 9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d)

Sat, 10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (d)

Sun, 11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (d)

Mon, 12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d)

Wed, 14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d)

Thurs, 15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d)

Sun, 18 June – Final, The Oval (d)

Mon, 19 June – Reserve day (d)

Match timing – Day matches will start at 10h30 (UK time), while day/night matches will start at 13h30 (UK time)

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here