user tracker image

Vijay Hazare Trophy | Shreyas Iyer to lead Mumbai; Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ankolekar included

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Vijay Hazare Trophy | Shreyas Iyer to lead Mumbai; Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ankolekar included

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Shreyas Iyer has been named the captain of the Mumbai team for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy season which will commence next week. While Suryakumar Yadav has been named vice-captain, U-19 stars Yashasvi Jaiswal and Atharva Ankolekar have also been picked after impressive performances.

In the absence of Prithvi Shaw, who is out till November due to a doping ban, Mumbai have decided to go ahead with 17-year-old Yashasvi Jaiswal, who has been a regular in the Indian U19 sides in the last couple of years. Jaiswal made his first-class debut days after turning 17 earlier this year against Chhattisgarh in front of his home fans. 

18-year-old Atharva Ankolekar, who took the recently concluded U19 Asia Cup by storm by picking 12 wickets in just three matches, has also been included in the squad, alongside Shashank Attarde and Shams Mulani. The squad also boasts of a strong pace attack, comprising Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande and Dhawal Kulkarni.

Meanwhile, other regulars Siddesh Lad, Jay BistaAditya Tare, Sarfaraz Khan, Shivam Dube and Shubham Ranjane have also been named in a strong 17-man squad which will be led by Shreyas Iyer. Iyer will have no respite, as the 24-year-old would need to start with Vijay Hazare duties as soon as India's 3rd T20I against South Africa ends on September 22. 

Mumbai are placed in Elite Group A and will kick off their 2019 campaign against Saurashtra in Bengaluru on September 24. 

Squad: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Jay Bista, Aditya Tare, Sarfaraz Khan, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Eknath Kerkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Shardul Thakur, Siddhesh Lad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Kruthik Hanagawadi, Shashank Attarde

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here