user tracker image

ISL 2019-20 | Northeast United FC replace Bartholomew Ogbeche with Asamoah Gyan

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


ISL 2019-20 | Northeast United FC replace Bartholomew Ogbeche with Asamoah Gyan

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Indian Super League side Northeast United FC have replaced outgoing striker Bartholomew Ogbeche with Ghanaian Asamoah Gyan for the upcoming 2019-20 Indian Super League. The former Sunderland player is the all-time leading goal scorer for his national side with 51 strikers in 107 appearances.

The forward has played four World Cups for Ghana and led them to the quarter-finals in the 2010 edition in South Africa. The 33-year old is going to be a valuable inclusion to the squad having played his across Europe in countries like Italy, France, and Turkey. The footballer is excited about his new venture and to be a part of the Indian Super League.

“I am extremely excited to start this new chapter in my career. I have heard great things about NorthEast United FC and the Indian Super League and I am thrilled to be a part of it for the upcoming season. I am confident that we can better the wonderful season the club had last year," said the former Premier League footballer.

After a successful season with the ‘Highlanders’, Dutch striker Bartholomew Ogbeche joined Kerala Blasters in the summer transfer window. Since then, Northeast United FC have been looking for a replacement and finally roped in the Ghanaian. The Executive Director of Northeast United FC, Priya Runchal was pleased to have the experienced footballer in their roster.

“We are thrilled to have a player of Gyan’s calibre and experience join our squad. He has continuously delivered excellence at the highest of levels of world football and we are confident that he will add a lot of firepower on the pitch here, “said Runchal.

Northeast United FC finished crashed out of the 2018-19 ISL in the semi-finals after losing to eventual winners Bengaluru FC. They are going to kick-start their new campaigns against similar foes on October 21 next month.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey