33 core players named for Hockey India senior women camp

no photo

Hockey India

33 core players named for Hockey India senior women camp

no photo

Press Release


Hockey India has named 33 women players for its senior camp to be held in Bengaluru from 25 February under the guidance of chief national women’s coach Sjoerd Marijne. The five-week long camp will be held in at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru campus till 31 March this year.

The five-week long camp will see the players focus on fitness, ball-handling speed and strength apart from the emphasis on staying consistent in their performance. The team led by striker Rani did well in their recent tour of Spain where the Indian Team enjoyed one win (5-2), suffered one loss (2-3) and drew twice (1-1 and 2-2) against the home team who had won a Bronze Medal in 2018 Women's World Cup. India also impressed against 2018 Women's World Cup runners-up Ireland with a draw (1-1) and a win (3-0) ending the tour on a high.

"Playing well against Ireland and Spain with short preparation gives the team a good boost. There is space to improve and keep aiming higher. It is important for the players to know how to remain consistent and show that every day in training and match-situation," stated Sjoerd Marijne who is happy with the steady progress the Indian women's team is making.

He further added that the camp gives them ample time to work on key areas ahead of their next tour in Malaysia. "Our focus will be on improving fitness and also ball-handling speed. We have a long camp and this is perfect as it gives more time for us to work on these two key areas. In our next tour we play Malaysia and in those matches, we will come across situations where we will have less space to score and our challenge will be to be effective in such situations," he opined. 

The core group includes goalkeepers Savita, Rajani Etimarpu, Sonal Minj, defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Gurjit Kaur, Rashmita Minz, Salima Tete, Suman Devi Thoudam, Mahima Choudhary and Nisha. Among midfielders Nikki Pradhan, Monika, Lilima Minz, Namita Toppo, Neha Goyal, Udita, Jyoti, Anuja Singh, Shyama Tidgam, Sonika, Karishma Yadav have received a call-up. Forwards Rani, Lalremsiami, Navneet Kaur, Navjot Kaur, Rajwinder Kaur, Vandana Katariya, Anupa Barla, Priyanka Wankhede, Reena Khokhar and Leelavathy Mallamada Jaya have made the National Camp. 

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey