Indian Railways lift Senior National Men’s Hockey Championship (A Division) title

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Hockey India

Indian Railways lift Senior National Men’s Hockey Championship (A Division) title

no photo

Press Release


The Railway Sports Promotion Board was crowned champions in the Ninth Senior National Men’s Hockey Championship after beating Hockey Punjab 3-2 in the final on Sunday. In another game, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board defeated Punjab & Sind Bank to finish third in the tournament.

RSPB led by Chinglensana Singh Kangujam came up with a scintillating performance to dethrone defending Champions Hockey Punjab with a 3-2 win in the Final of the championship’s 2019 edition. Harsahib Singh’s brace was the major attraction in the summit clash between the two sides. 

Both teams rallied cautiously in the first quarter as they kept the defence tight to not allow space in the striking circle. With no potential circle penetrations made, the first quarter ended in a stalemate but it was the defending Champions who made the first breakthrough in the 23rd minute. It was Rupinder Pal Singh who gave that precious 1-0 lead with a perfect drag. Only minutes before that, striker Ramandeep Singh had come close to scoring what would have been a rollicking goal but he missed by inches. 

The lead, however, did not deter the Railway Sports Promotion Board as they tightened their defence and upped their ante in attack. The third quarter belonged to Harsahib Singh who scored two crucial field goals in the 35th and 43rd minute. Nilakanta Sharma of the Junior World Cup fame was instrumental in the Railway Sports Promotion Board's attack as he tested Hockey Punjab's defence by making forays inside their striking circle. 

In the third quarter Dilpreet Singh scored an important goal in the 57th minute to take Railway Sports Promotion Board lead to 3-1. Though Ramandeep Singh finally converted a shot on goal after several attempts through the match in the 60th minute, it was not enough to snatch the victory from Railway Sports Promotion Board.  

In the Bronze medal match, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board beat Punjab & Sind Bank 4-1. Talwinder Singh (8'), Devinder Walmiki (13'), Harmanpreet Singh (49') and Mandeep Singh (57') scored for the winners while Gaganpreet Singh (51') scored for Punjab & Sind Bank.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here