Kumar Surendra Singh Championship | Monu Tomar wins gold as Sarabjot Singh eventually fumbles

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Kumar Surendra Singh Championship | Monu Tomar wins gold as Sarabjot Singh eventually fumbles

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Air Force’s Monu Tomar clinched the yellow metal in the 19th Kumar Surendra Singh Championship in the men’s air pistol event at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, on Sunday. Unfortunately, Asiad gold and World Championship silver medalist Jitu Rai missed the final on the count of "inner 10s".

Tomar was trailing Sarabjot Singh by one full point before the final round and managed to hit a quick 10.2 on the final shot. It was followed by the spectators putting on Sarabjot who couldn’t handle it and ended up shooting 8.9 after all the hard work throughout the event.

The Asian junior gold medallist shot 584 in the qualification and looked inevitable to win the gold before the intense ending ended up disrupting him and he won a silver medal. He was followed by Commonwealth Games champion Omkar Singh, who won the bronze medal to finish ahead of Sagar.

The other shooters reaching the final were Gaurav Rana, Amanpreet Singh, left-hander Anhad Jawanda and Yogesh Singh as Jitu Rai, quite surprisingly, missed reaching the final round by shooting 579 and along with Sharvan Kumar. Sharvan has previously won the junior and youth silver medals.

The juniors saw another dramatic last-shot finish although it didn’t cause any major upset. Vijayveer, after building a good lead throughout, could hit just 8.7 in his last shot. Sharvan shot 10.3 on the last shot but Vijayveer’s better tally saw him winning the gold whereas Kunal Rana won the bronze.

The day saw an intense climax in the youth section where Naved Choudhary won the gold by shooting 10.6 while Shravan could shoot 9.5 before being tied before the last shot. Udhayveer Sidhu won the bronze ahead of his twin brother Vijayveer Sidhu.

Sarabjot Singh’s close displays saw him slipping to the sixth spot after Akshay Baliyan and ahead of Yuvraj Singh and Lucky. The air pistol shooters would have to play the fifth selection trials on Monday, before the 53-member Indian contingent would be preparing for the Junior World Cup scheduled to be held in Suhl, Germany.

The results:

10m air pistol

Men: 1. Monu Tomar 240.5 (581); 2. Sarabjot Singh 240.2 (584); 3. Omkar Singh 218.5 (579).

Juniors: 1. Vijayveer Sidhu 243.9 (578); 2. Sharvan Kumar 243.3 (579); 3. Kunal Rana 221.1 (578).

Youth: 1. Naved Chaudhary 242.6 (577); 2. Sharvan Kumar 241.5 (579); 3. Udhayveer Sidhu 221.2 (575).

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here