Indian Open | Matt Wallace crowned Champion as Shubhankar Sharma falters in final round

Indian Open | Matt Wallace crowned Champion as Shubhankar Sharma falters in final round

no photo



Matt Wallace defeated Andrew Johnstone in a playoff to clinch the Indian Open golf title for the first time in his career. Shubhankar Sharma, who was joint first at the start of the day, struggled to keep up with the pace with Wallace and Johnstone as he finished the tournament tied at 7th place.

Wallace defeated countrymen Johnstone in the playoffs to win his second European Tour title and his first Indian Open title. Wallace and Shubhankar Sharma led the other golfers before going into the final round while Johnstone was joint fourth before heading into the final round where he sank 6 birdies in a bogey-free 66 and forced a playoff with Wallace. But it was Wallace who ended the extra hole with a birdie to secure the winner’s cheque.

“I played great. Ever since being three over through eight at the start of the week I’ve played some of the best golf of my life and to do it in that style at the end there capped it off,” said Wallace reported Reuters.

“There are some great champions. SSP (Chawrasia) held it for a couple of years there and I am so happy to get my name on the trophy.

“I asked on 15 what the score was. I didn’t hit many great iron shots on the back nine but I knew where I stood. I like to know what I have to do."

Sharma who had started the day at the number one spot failed to take the advantage of his lead and faltered again in the final round as he repeated his final round slip up from the last week’s Mexico World Golf Championship. The Indian ended the tournament tied 7th with Scotland's Stephen Gallacher.

Shiwan Kim took the third spot followed by Spain’s Pablo Larrazabal and Austria’s Matthias Schwab in the fourth and fifth position respectively.

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all