SC removes Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke from BCCI

no photo

SC removes Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke from BCCI

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


The Supreme Court on Monday (Jan 2) removed Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke as president and secretary respectively of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, and also announced that a committee of administrators will be appointed on Jan 19 to oversee the operations of the BCCI.

The most senior BCCI vice-president will take over as the interim president of the BCCI if he/she will adhere to the Lodha Committee's recommendations. The to-be-appointed president will be supervised by the panel of administrators.

“This is the logical consequence. Once the recommendations were accepted by the court, it had to be implemented. There were obstructions, there were impediments ... obviously, this had to happen, and it has happened,” former Chief Justice of India RM Lodha, the chairman of the Lodha Committee, said after the court order on Jan 2.

“The Supreme Court itself has ensured that its order of 18 July is now enforced. It's a victory for the game of cricket and it will flourish, administrators come and go, ultimately it is for the game,” he added.

The decision came after the BCCI’s continuous reluctance and inability to implement the recommendations made by the Lodha panel. The BCCI was ordered to accept all the reforms in toto but had stalled on them even after six months. 

Pick your best pacers in ODI/T20 of 2016! (Pick 3 out of 6)
K.J. Abbott
Mustafizur Rahman
M.A. Starc
Pick your best pacers in Tests of 2016! (Pick 3 out of 6)
Dale Steyn
Josh Hazlewood
James Anderson
Stuart Broad
Mitchell Starc
Vernon Philander

Who will be the PSL champions? Predict Today & WIN Cash Prizes.

Download NostraGamus here to get ₹20 Joining Bonus FREE!

Predict Matches to Win UNLIMITED PayTM Cash Prizes! Over 4,000 winners daily.