WATCH | Windies colts' lack of sportsmanship results in Jiveshan Pillay's bizarre dismissal

no photo
 |

Twitter

WATCH | Windies colts' lack of sportsmanship results in Jiveshan Pillay's bizarre dismissal

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

01/17/2018

In cricket, a batsman can get out in many ways but this might be the first time that courtesy has resulted in a batsman been dismissed. In an U-19 World Cup game between Windies and South Africa, Jiveshan Pillay picked and returned the ball to the keeper and was given his marching orders.

The debate over the controversial dismissal of Pillay, who was given out for obstruction when he picked up the ball that was nowhere close to the stumps with his hand and it has raised questions over the team's sportsman spirit. In a Group A match of the ICC Under-19 World Cup, South Africa faced West Indies in Mount Maunganui on Wednesday and batting first, they managed to score 282 for 8 in the allotted 50 overs.  

The incident in question occurred in the 17th over of South Africa’s innings when the score was 77 for 2. Jarion Hoyte delivered the ball to Pillay and the batsman mistimed the shot and the ball took the inside edge, but after coming off his pad, it stopped near the off stump. Pillay collected the ball and might have stopped it as it was going away from the wicket and threw it towards West Indies wicketkeeper Emmanuel Stewart.

The Windies players appealed for the wicket much to the surprise of the fans and the opposition team. The on-field umpires had a chat and referred it to the third umpire to give a final judgment. 

The decision would have favoured the South African side if and only if West Indies withdrew their appeal. As according to the Law 37.4, which deals with 'returning the ball to a fielder', states: "Either batsman is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder."

The umpire took his time to come up with a final decision and Pillay seemed frustrated with the Windies’ move of appealing. The big screen, after almost five minutes, finally showed ‘Out’ and the opener missed his half-century by just three runs and returned to the pavilion.

It was not the first time when West Indies involved in controversy as in 2016 U-19 World Cup their bowler Keemo Paul effected a mankad dismissal off Zimbabwe’s last wicket to register a win in a crucial match and eventually they ended up winning the tournament.

Easier than picking 11 Players, Predict Cricket Matches in 2 minutes!

Predict IND vs AF, Royal London Cup & More matches from around the world! Download here Now!

Win Cash Everyday on NostraGamus! Play Now on Android & predict matches of ANY Sport! Click here to Download Now & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!!

SHOW COMMENTS