Delhi Dynamos move to Bhubaneswar, becomes Odisha FC

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Delhi Dynamos move to Bhubaneswar, becomes Odisha FC

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


After Hyderabad became a new side to enter the Indian Super League fray, reportedly in place of FC Pune City, Delhi Dynamos has moved out of the capital city to set up shop in Bhubaneswar and would reportedly be named Odisha FC. Shubham Sarangi would be the only local player in the club.

According to reports by Sportstar, ISL club Delhi Dynamos, as we know it, would be changing to Odisha Football Club (OFC) after it entered an agreement with the Odisha government that would be official on Saturday. It would also, reportedly, be a long-term contract. The official sources have also revealed that the agreement would be signed by the sports and youth services department of the state government with the parent company of Delhi Dynamos, in the presence of Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik.

The state government would be supporting the club's relocation and would be providing the infrastructural facilities to it as part of the agreement, which also included training grounds and the Kalinga Stadium. Bhubaneswar's Kalinga Stadium would be the home ground for the franchise from the seventh ISL season with Shubham Sarangi the only local player at present.

After successfully playing host to the 2018 Men’s Hockey World Cup, the Odisha government has been busy establishing several high-performance centres for different games in the state with the most recently inaugurated centre being the high-performance Naval Tata Hockey Academy. The state government has also received the provisional clearance for 2020 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here