HIL 2016: Punjab Warriors decimate Dabang Mumbai to reach top spot

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

© HIL media

HIL 2016: Punjab Warriors decimate Dabang Mumbai to reach top spot

no photo

Debarshee Mitra


The home fans in Mumbai were left disappointed after a scintillating performance from the away team Jaypee Punjab Warriors, who came up with the attacking arsenal to beat Dabang Mumbai 5-1. The win ensured the Jaypee Punjab Warriors top spot on the points table with one match left to play.

The first quarter started with Jaypee Punjab Warriors looking to make up for their loss in the last match. Jaypee Punjab Warriors pressed hard in order to get their first goal and in the second minute a penalty corner conversion by Varun Kumar gave the Punjab team a lead of 1-0. Dabang Mumbai H.C tried to regroup but was soon taken back by a second penalty corner conversion by Mark Gleghorne in the 13th minute. Dabang Mumbai H.C continued to be on the back foot as Jaypee Punjab Warriors again pressed hard to score. A third penalty corner conversion by Christopher Ciriello in the 26th minute widened the gap between the two teams to 3-0. The first half ended with the score at 3-0 in favour of the away team.

The second half saw Dabang Mumbai H.C team changing their tactics and trying to play a more attacking game. The Jaypee Punjab Warriors took advantage of the defensive gaps created and scored another goal which came from the stick of Nithin Thimmaiah to make the score 5-0 in favour of the away team in the 41st minute. The Dabang Mumbai H.C team tried their level best to come back but missed penalty corners and chances. Punjab kept a strong defensive line and good goalkeeping helped their cause in keeping the in form Mumbai Strikers at bay. Many chances were created but only one goal was scored at the end of the 4th quarter from Jeremy Hayward to give the Mumbai team their solitary goal of the match from a penalty corner. The match ended at 1-5 in favour of Jaypee Warriors Punjab.

'The Man of the Match' award of INR 50,000 was given to Tristan Clemons from Jaypee Punjab Warriors. The Coal India Goal of the Match of INR 50,000 was awarded to Nithin Thimmaiah from the Jaypee Punjab Warriors by Shri Shekhar Saran, Chairman cum Managing Director, CMPDIL. Hero Emerging Player of the Match Award of INR 25,000 was awarded to Varun Kumar from Jaypee Punjab Warriors, while The Most Entertaining Player of the Match award went to Mark Gleghorne from Jaypee Punjab Warriors.

The next match of the 4th edition of the Coal India Hockey India League will be played between Ranchi Rays and Uttar Pradesh Wizards on February 13, 2016 at Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi. 

Report Courtesy: HIL Media

(Also Read: It's good times to be an Indian hockey fan)

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here