No Rohit Sharma and Jadeja in ESPNcricinfo’s ODI team of 2016

no photo

© Getty Images

No Rohit Sharma and Jadeja in ESPNcricinfo’s ODI team of 2016

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah is the surprise inclusion in ESPNcricinfo’s ODI team of the year which had no place for the likes of Imran Tahir, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rohit Sharma. Joe Root and Steven Smith, who were missing from ICC’s ODI team of the year, have been included as well.


It is difficult to imagine a more potent ODI opening pair than David Warner and Quinton de Kock, who finished first and third respectively on the ODI run charts and made their runs at strike rates exceeding 100.

Warner's tally of seven ODI centuries this year is the joint second highest in a calendar year. The middle order from the Test XI slots into the ODI side as well, illustrating their versatility.

In Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes, this side has fearsome strikers in the lower middle order. Mitchell Starc leads a four-man fast-bowling attack, and Sunil Narine is the only front-line spinner. Fancy coming up against this lot at the WACA?

The XI:

1. David Warner

2. Quinton de Kock [WK]

3. Joe Root

4. Virat Kohli

5. Steven Smith

6. Jos Buttler

7. Ben Stokes

8. Mitchell Starc

9. Sunil Narine

10. Josh Hazlewood

11. Jasprit Bumrah

Read the rest of the article here.

Who are your best ODI/T20 middle-order batsmen of 2016? (Pick 3 out of 6)
Virat Kohli
Joe Root
Steven Smith
George Bailey
Kane Williamson

Predict LIVE Cricket Matches happening worldwide today! Play from your mobile anytime, anywhere.

Download NostraGamus here to get ₹20 Joining Bonus FREE!

Predict Matches to Win UNLIMITED PayTM Cash Prizes! Over 4,000 winners daily.