WATCH | Umpiring blunder costs Zimbabwe the Test against Sri Lanka

no photo
 |

Getty Images

WATCH | Umpiring blunder costs Zimbabwe the Test against Sri Lanka

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

07/19/2017

An error from an umpire is not a new thing in cricket, but even by such standards, Sri Lanka were handed a huge reprieve in their only Test against Zimbabwe when Chettithody Shamshuddin overlooked a blatant stumping. The decision cost Zimbabwe the match as Lanka went on to win by 4 wickets.

The incident occurred in the 69th over of Sri Lanka’s second innings, with Sikandar Raza bowling to Niroshan Dickwella. Raza delivered a perfectly pitched off spinner which turned and bounced and beat Dickwella all ends up and Zimbabwe’s wicketkeeper Richmond Mutumbami wasted no time in dislodging the bails. The square leg umpire referred the decision to third umpire Chettithody Shamsuddin, but what followed left everyone shocked. While Dickwella’s foot was clearly on the line the third umpire took a lot of time to make up his mind as he viewed all the angles. 

Shamsuddin finally decided to give the decision in Sri Lanka’s favour and the verdict left everyone in shock. Zimbabwe’s coach, Heath Streak, was stunned by the incident, and even the commentator could not believe his eyes. But things were to get even worse for Zimbabwe as Dickwella went on to score 81 and lead the Lankans to victory.

You can watch the video here:

Now play Cricket, Football, Tennis, Badminton and Kabaddi - all in one go.

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports. Play Daily Sports challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

SHOW COMMENTS