Fifth edition of Premier Badminton League to start on Jan 20

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Fifth edition of Premier Badminton League to start on Jan 20

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


The date of the commencement of the fifth edition of the Premier Badminton League has been announced and it's set to start early next year on January 20, 2020. Top Indian shuttlers like PV Sindhu, HS Prannoy, B Sai Praneeth, and many others are expected to participate in it again.

Apart from the Indian Premier League, Pro Kabaddi League, and Indian Super League, the Premier Badminton League has been quite a success in the country with halls across cities seeing decent footfall. And the organizers have decided to extend the successful tournament to its fifth season.

Kidambi Srikanth’s Bengaluru Raptors managed to lift the coveted trophy in last year's tournament and they would get a chance at defending it when the tournament returns in January 2020. Concluding on February 9, the season is set to be staged in Chennai, Delhi, Lucknow, and Bangalore.

Owned by Badminton Association of India, the league has been offering a total purse of Rs 6 crore with the winner taking home a cheque of Rs 3 crore. Apart from Bengaluru Raptors, other teams to have won the league are Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Smashers, Delhi Dashers, and Hyderabad Hotshots.

“India’s prowess in badminton has been re-established once again as PV Sindhu became the first Indian to become the world champion. Sai Praneeth also brought a men’s singles medal after 36 years, signifying India’s stupendous development in the sport,” said Himanta Biswa Sarma, President of BAI, reported Scroll. 

However, with the 2020 Tokyo Games scheduled to be held in July-August, which would obviously be the main focus for one and shuttlers all, the participation of foreign stars would be in question.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here