T20I sensation Taniya Bhatia called up for Sri Lanka tour

T20I sensation Taniya Bhatia called up for Sri Lanka tour

no photo

Wicket-keeper Taniya Bhatia has been included in the ODI and T20I squad that will travel to Sri Lanka next month ahead of this year’s ICC World T20 to be played in the Windies. Mithali Raj will lead the Indian women’s team in the ODI format while Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the T20I unit.

The Indian women’s team will head to Sri Lanka next month as they step up preparations for the upcoming ICC World T20 that will be played later this year. Mithali Raj & Co. will be in high spirits as they aim to replicate their form from the 2-1 series win against England on home soil earlier this year.

There have been a few inclusions and exclusions from the squad that faced off against the three lions as the Indian management will aim to zero-in on their final squad for the T20 World Cup. One of the most interesting additions to the side has been that of wicket-keeper/batsman - Taniya Bhatia. Following Taniya’s ability to keep the scoreboard ticking and her smart feet against spinners is something that could come in handy on the slowish tracks in the Asian subcontinent. 

Punam Raut and Mansi Joshi are the other inclusions in the ODI squad that went up against England. Joshi will be seen in action for the first time in eight months since picking up a knee injury during the India ‘A’ series against Bangladesh while Raut too will look to make the most of this opportunity after she was left out of the last ODI assignment against England.

Meanwhile, the T20 squad will see legendary pacer Jhulan Goswami leave the Indian squad after she announced her retirement from T20 international matches on Thursday. The selectors have handed maiden call-ups to Dayalan Hemalatha and Arundhati Reddy as they left out Mona Meshram owing to the latter’s poor form. Left-arm spinner Radha Yadav was recalled after she missed the Asia Cup.

Squad for three ODIs: Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur (vc), Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Tanya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey

Squad for five T20Is: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Tanya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all