user tracker image

T20 World Cup 2021 | Twitter reacts as umpire Aleem Dar escapes ‘double strike’ during SA vs WI clash

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Aleem Dar almost escaped double strike during the match between West Indies and South Africa

| Courtesy - Twitter

T20 World Cup 2021 | Twitter reacts as umpire Aleem Dar escapes ‘double strike’ during SA vs WI clash

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

10/26/2021

During the match between West Indies and South Africa, Kieron Pollard smashed a ball straight towards Aleem Dar as the on-field umpire removed himself from the trajectory of the shot just on time. Dar once again got away from getting hit when van der Dussen threw the ball back towards the bowler.

During the final over of the match, West Indies captain Keiron Pollard slammed a slow-ball to the straight towards on-field umpire Aleem Dar, who was lucky enough to react quickly and duck on time to avoid the powerful hit from striking him. Rassie van der Dussen, positioned just behind the bowler, took a sharp low catch and also threw the ball towards the non-striker's end, forcing Dar once again to save himself from the white thing. 

After being asked to bat first, West Indies started off slowly, as the South Africa bowlers restricted the run flow in the initial three overs. However, Evin Lewis charged up and accelerated the run rate with his 56 0f 35 balls. Lendl Simmons, who opened the batting with Lewis struggled and managed to score only a 35-ball 16. West Indies captain Kieron Pollard scored 26 off 20 to guide his team to 143/8. For South Africa, Dwaine Pretorius was the pick of the bowlers as he scalped three wickets in the match. 

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here

SHOW COMMENTS drop down