user tracker image

Virat Kohli proud to retain ICC Test Championship Mace for third consecutive time

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Virat Kohli proud to retain ICC Test Championship Mace for third consecutive time

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Virat Kohli has stated that the entire Indian Test team has been proud after retaining the ICC Test Championship Mace for the third consecutive time. The Indian team consequently bagged a purse of USD one million after a memorable season in which they also won their maiden series in Australia.

For the third consecutive year, the Indian Test cricket team has been awarded the ICC Test Championship mace after the completion of a historic year. India finished at the top of the ICC Test team rankings on the cut-off date of which is April 1. Kane Williamson-led  New Zealand have finished in second place as the ICC world body said in a statement on Monday.

A top place finish was never in doubt for India who registered a historic first-ever Test series win against Australia away from home. India skipper Virat Kohli was over the moon after the announcement by ICC and claimed that the entire squad is proud to have achieved this feat.

"Retaining the ICC Test Championship Mace once again is something we are all really proud of. Our team has been doing well across formats but it gives us extra pleasure to come out on top of the Test rankings, We all know of the importance of Test cricket and of how only the best can prosper in the format," Virat Kohli was quoted as saying by PTI reporters.

The New Zealand cricket team also had the satisfaction of seeing their captain get the ICC Spirit of Cricket award for 2018 earned a total USD 500,000 after finishing with 108 points, eight behind India. The Kiwis have climbed up to second from the third position.

"As a team we should be very proud. It's come off the back of a lot of hard work and perseverance; not just by the eleven guys on the field, but the entire squad and support staff. It's been especially pleasing to see the consistency we've shown in the longest form of the game over a decent period of time," Kane Williamson added.

Meanwhile, Faf Du Plessis-led South Africa will now get prize money of USD 200,000 for finishing third in the rankings with 105 points as Australia narrowly edged out England at 104 points will take home USD 100,000.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey