user tracker image

IPL 2020 | Mumbai Indians release Yuvraj Singh, Evin Lewis; retain Quinton de Kock

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

IPL 2020 | Mumbai Indians release Yuvraj Singh, Evin Lewis; retain Quinton de Kock

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Mumbai Indians decided to part ways with veteran Yuvraj Singh, West Indian Evin Lewis, and five others for the upcoming IPL season. The defending champions have, meanwhile, retained the likes of Quinton de Kock, Mitchell McCleneghan and most of their squad ahead of the auction in Kolkata.

All eight Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises announced the list of players retained and released by them ahead of the IPL auctions on Friday. The players’ auction is scheduled to be conducted in Kolkata for the first time on December 19, with each franchise being allotted Rs. 85 crore each for next season — an additional three crore per team as compared to the last season. The 85 crore purse is in addition to the balance in their kitties from the last auction.

While some franchises have opted to rebuild their squad, nearly from scratch, the four-time champions Mumbai Indians - along with last season’s runners-up Chennai Super Kings - has their first team sorted with the fewest number of slots remaining to fill.

The seven players released by Mumbai Indians are Yuvraj Singh, Evin Lewis, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff, Barinder Sran, Ben Cutting and Pankaj Jaiswal.

Mumbai have retained Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Anmolpreet Singh, Jayant Yadav, Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni (Traded in), Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, and Mitchell McClenaghan. 

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here