IND vs SA | Jayant Yadav replaces Washington Sundar for South Africa ODI series

no photo

The BCCI on Wednesday, January 12 announced Jayant Yadav as a replacement for Washington Sundar, who recently tested positive for Covid-19, for the three-match ODI series in South Africa starting from January 19. Navdeep Saini has been added to the ODI squad as cover for injured Mohammed Siraj.

The BoardĀ of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)Ā Ā on Wednesday, January 12 announced thatĀ Washington Sundar has been ruled out of the three-match ODI series against South Africa after testing positive for Covid-19.Ā Sundar, who was part of the initial 18-member ODI squad has beenĀ replaced in the side by Jayant Yadav.

The selection committee also announced Navdeep Saini as cover for Mohammed Siraj, who sustained a hamstring injury during the second Test match in Johannesburg.Ā Both Jayant and Saini are already a part of the Indian contingent for the ongoing three-match Test seriesĀ in South Africa.Ā Jayant is part of the Indian Test squad in South Africa, but the off-spinning all-rounderĀ hasn't featured in the playing XI yet. Saini was part of the India A squad, which toured South Africa in November 2021, and the pacer was asked to remain with the Test squad as a standby player.

Jayant has so farĀ featured inĀ just one ODI for Team India. The 31-year-old played his lone ODIĀ against New Zealand in Visakhapatnam in October 2016, which was also his international debut. Whereas, Saini has played eight ODIs, in which he has bagged six wickets at an average of 80.16.Ā 

The first two ODIs will be played in Paarl on January 19 and 21, while the final match of the white-ball series will take place in Cape Town on January 23.

India's updated ODI squad for South Africa series: KL Rahul (Captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Jayant Yadav, Navdeep Saini.

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all