WPL | Royal Challengers Bangalore squad for Women’s Premier League 2023

WPL | Royal Challengers Bangalore squad for Women’s Premier League 2023

no photo

Ben Sawyer will work as RCB women's head coach.



Ben Sawyer, New Zealand women’s head coach, will, in all likelihood, work as a head coach of RCB in the Women’s Premier League as the Red and Gold Brigade will be keen to acquire big names just like they usually do in men’s auctions. The auction process will be held in Mumbai on February 13. 

Over the years, Royal Challengers Bangalore are usually known for acquiring big names, and fans will expect the same before they enter the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), to get underway on March 4. Although the franchise is yet to confirm their support staff, Ben Sawyer, as per multiple reports, will be their head coach for the forthcoming season.

RCB has kicked off the auction with a brilliant signing of Indian star opener Smriti Mandhana for a heavy price tag. The franchise will be relying on the opener to give a flying start to the team. The second recruitment for the franchise is Sophie Devine who will be an impact player for the team with her all-round skills. The Blackcaps cricketer have incredible numbers in India with 14 wickets and 222 runs from eight T20Is. Ellyse Perry is another pick by the franchise and they have brought the world-class all-rounder for a decent sum. 

RCB have also strengthened their pace department by signing the Indian pace sensation, Renuka Singh. The bowler would be expected to bowl with the new ball and take some key wickets for the team. The franchise adds a finisher to the lineup recurring Richa Ghosh for her explosive approach in lower order and wicketkeeping skills. Erin Burns is the next recruitment by the team for her all-round skills. After forming a strong core in the initial rounds, the franchise has opted for domestic talents like Kanika Ahuja, Indrani Roy, and Disha Kasat. 

WPL 2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Team Player List

  • Smriti Mandhana (India) - INR 3.4 Crore 
  • Sophie Devine (New Zealand) - INR 50 Lakh
  • Ellyse Perry (Australia) - INR 1.7 Crore
  • Renuka Singh (India) - INR 1.5 Crore
  • Richa Ghosh (India) - INR 1.90 Crore
  • Erin Burns (Australia) - INR 30 Lakh
  • Disha Kasat (India) INR 10 Lakh
  • Indrani Roy (India) - INR 10 Lakh
  • Shreyanka Patil (India) - INR 10 Lakh
  • Kanika Ahuja (India) - INR 35 Lakh
  • Asha Shobhana (India) - INR 10 Lakh
  • Heather Knight (England) - INR 40 Lakh
  • Dane van Niekerk (South Africa) - INR 30 Lakh
  • Preeti Bose (India) - INR 30 Lakh
  • Poonam Khemnar (India) - INR 10 Lakh
  • Komal Zanzad (India) - INR 25 Lakh
  • Megan Schutt (Australia) - INR 40 Lakh
  • Sahana Pawar (India) - INR 10 Lakh

Squad Size: 18

Money Spent: INR 11.90 Crore 

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all