West Indies squad for India series announced

no photo

Getty Images

West Indies squad for India series announced

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


West Indies have announced their squad for the upcoming home series against India that will see them host five one-day matches and one T20 which will start from June 23rd. They have named an unchanged squad from the last series against Afghanistan and Jason Holder will lead the team.

West Indies named the same 13-man squad for the first two ODIs of the five-match series against India, which played in the last series against Afghanistan. The same squad means the big names like Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, and Kieron Pollard will not feature in the first two games. The team will be led by all-rounder Jason Holder. Their pace bowling spearhead Shannon Gabriel will miss out on the first two matches of the series though, as he is still recovering from an injury.

India had already announced their squad with Rishabh Pant and Kuldeep Yadav receiving nods while Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah make the place for them. After losing the ICC Champions Trophy final against Pakistan, India will definitely be hoping for a dominant show on this tour. The first match of the series will be played on June 23rd at the Queens Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago and the tour goes on till July 9th.

The team is as follows:

Jason Holder (C), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope (WK), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kesrick Williams.

India or West Indies? Who will win?

WI hold a 60-53 H2H advantage over IND historically but in last 10 completed games between them , IND have won 7. IND has also won all last 5 games at this venue.

Win cash daily by just predicting the right result of matches. Click here to download the game on Android for FREE! To know more, visit Nostragamus.in