user tracker image

Vijay Hazare Trophy | Jharkhand edge past Maharashtra; Hyderabad make semis after beating AP

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Vijay Hazare Trophy | Jharkhand edge past Maharashtra; Hyderabad make semis after beating AP

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Jharkhand secured a semi-final berth after they defeated Maharashtra in their last eight encounter by eight wickets via the VJD method at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore today. Meanwhile, Hyderabad outplayed Andhra Pradesh by a narrow margin of 14-runs to reach the semi-finals.

Jharkhand vs Maharashtra

Brief scores: Maharashtra 181/10 from 42.2 overs ( Rohit Motwani 52, Rahul Tripathi 47, Anukul Roy 4/32,  Rahul Shukla 3/35) lost to Jharkhand 127/2 from 32.2 overs ( Shasheem Rathour 53, Saurabh Tiwary 29, Samad Fallah 1/13, Shrikant Mundhe 1/23) by eight wickets by VJD method.

Jharkhand made it one step closer to the final of this year’s Vijay Hazare Trophy as they beat Maharashtra in their quarter-final encounter at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Monday. In a rain-interrupted encounter in Bangalore, Maharashtra managed to get 181 on the board after 42.2 overs. After a shaky start at the top, Maharashtra’s batsmen, Rahul Motwani and Rahul Tripathi got them back on track in the middle-overs. Anukul Roy starred with the ball as he picked up a four-for to restrict the Maharashtra batsmen to a low final score.

In reply to that, Jharkhand got off to a good start but ended up losing opener Anand Singh after just 21 runs on the board. Captain Ishan Kishan kept his nerve until he was dismissed for 28 by Shrikant Mundhe. But Shasheem Rathour’s brave half-century ensured that Kishan’s men were on track as far as the run-rate was concerned. They ultimately held on till 127/2 before rain made it possible for the play to resume. Jharkhand were selected as the winners by eight wickets via the VJD method and will now play Mumbai in the second semi-final of this year’s tournament.

Andhra Pradesh vs Hyderabad

Brief scores: Andhra Pradesh 267/9 from 50 overs ( Hanuma Vihari 95, Ricky Bhui 52, Mohammed Siraj 3/50, Ravi Kiran 2/60) lost to Hyderabad ( Bavanka Sandeep 96, Tanmay Agarwal 31, Bandaru Ayyappa 2/38, Grinath Reddy 2/62) by 14 runs.

Andhra Pradesh were beaten by a determined Hyderabad team by a narrow margin of 14 runs in today’s last quarter-final encounter at the Just Cricket Academy Ground in Bangalore. Earlier on in the innings, Hyderabad put up a strong performance with the bat as they got 281/8 after a quick-fire 96 from deliveries. Even though the top three couldn't keep up, number four batsmen Bavanaka Sandeep stood strong and scored 96 runs to raise the score for the team. Andhra Pradesh’s batting line-up declined after the wicket of Hanuma Vihari who tried to pull the chase but was dismissed after a brilliant knock of 95 runs. 

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here