user tracker image

Irani Cup | Vidarbha bags second consecutive title after winning via first innings lead

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Irani Cup | Vidarbha bags second consecutive title after winning via first innings lead

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Vidarbha became only the third team in Indian cricket history to win the Irani Cup title in two successive years as they defeated Rest of India (ROI) via first innings lead. Both the captains Faiz Fazal and Ajinkya Rahane decided to end the game in a draw on the final day with Vidarbha on 269/5.

Brief Scores: Rest of India 330 (Hanuma Vihari 114; Akshay Wakhare 3-62) & 374/3d (Hanuma Vihari 180*; Aditya Sarwate 2-141) drew with Vidarbha 425 (Akshay Karnewar 102; Rahul Chahar 4-112) & 269/5 (Ganesh Satish 87; Rahul Chahar 2-116)

Chasing 280 to win, the Ranji Trophy champions resumed their second innings at 37/1 as they had lost the wicket of Faiz Fazal for a duck before stumps yesterday. However, the other opener Sanjay Raghunath and Atharwa Taide helped the home team to recover better in Nagpur on the final day by adding 116 runs for the second wicket. Although Raghunath was picked up by Chahar for 42, Taide continued playing well alongside Ganesh Satish and got to his half-century as well. 

Vidarbha looked in full control of the game on the final day even after the dismissal of Taide as Satish and Mohit Kale stitched together a 50-plus stand for the fourth wicket to ensure that the hosts are right on the track of the run-chase. 

With Akshay Wadkar at the crease in the final session of the game, Vidarbha could have gone on to get to the winning target. However, after the dismissal of Satish for 87, Rahane and Fazal decided to shake hands and end the game on a draw as Vidarbha were the clear winners via the first-innings lead. Akshay Karnewar was adjudged Man of the Match for his crucial hundred lower down the order in the first innings.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here