user tracker image

Jasprit Bumrah keeps Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu in all-time Mumbai Indians XI

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Jasprit Bumrah keeps Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu in all-time Mumbai Indians XI

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Jasprit Bumrah, the spearhead of the Mumbai Indians pace attack, has put together his all-time favourite MI playing XI which includes a few interesting choices. Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma are the two openers in his team with former players Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik also included.

The Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians secured a narrow win against Chennai Super Kings in the final of the 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League. In doing so, the Mumbai-based franchise have now won four IPL trophies in the last seven years and are the most successful team in the league followed by MS Dhoni’s CSK. 

Jasprit Bumrah, who played a vital role in this year’s triumph, was ecstatic at adding another winners’ medal to his collection with the Mumbai Indians outfit. The seasoned pacer was subsequently asked to pick his all-time favourite playing XI from the Mumbai Indians squad and there were some pretty interesting inclusions in the list. Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma formed the opening pair in Bumrah’s playing XI followed by the likes of two former players - Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik at number four who is also the wicket-keeper in the side. 

The two most obvious choices in the playing XI have to be that of all-rounders - Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard - who are capable of winning matches on their own for the Mumbai Indians. Krunal Pandya and Harbhajan Singh are the two spinners in the team and also offer a deep batting line-up at number seven and eight in the batting line-up. Singh famously led MI to their first and last triumph in the Champions League.

In the fast bowling department, Bumrah has opted to include Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga and Australia’s Mitchell Johnson along with himself in the last slot on the line-up. Malinga is Mumbai’s all-time leading wicket-taker while Johnson played a key role in the team winning the 2013 and 2017 IPL finals. 

Jasprit Bumrah’s all-time MI XI:

Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Johnson, Jasprit Bumrah.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey