user tracker image

Twitter reacts to umpires helping SRH by ‘allowing’ Dinesh Karthik to waste review despite time running out

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Dinesh Kathik lbw

ipl_website

Twitter reacts to umpires helping SRH by ‘allowing’ Dinesh Karthik to waste review despite time running out

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

09/26/2020

Like almost every other IPL season, umpiring blunders have been at the forefront of the competition this year, too, and Chris Gaffaney and Virender Sharma, today, added to the unwanted reputation of the officials. KKR were allowed to ‘waste’ a review, despite the timer running out.

The umpiring in IPL 2020, like almost every other season, has been dodgy, and inside the first week, there were two controversial incidents that became the talking point - first, the ‘one-short’ blunder in the KXIP vs DC match that cost the former the game and second, the ‘grassed catch’ in the CSK vs RR match which made Dhoni look like an alleged cheat. The said incidents have lost steam and people have moved on from them, but today at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, there was yet another umpiring blunder which left a bitter taste in the mouth of the fans.

On the second ball of the seventh over of KKR’s chase, Rashid Khan trapped skipper Dinesh Karthik with a perfect googly, at a time when the Knight Riders were cruising in their chase. The decision looked stone dead to the naked eye and so, rightfully, the on-field umpire raised his finger. DK, the batsman who was bamboozled, entered into a deep discussion with non-striker Shubman Gill, but after the allotted 15-second limit passed, it looked like the KKR skipper had decided against taking the review.

However, in what came as a first in the history of the tournament, the umpires, despite the timer running out, allowed KKR and DK to take a review. The situation left both the commentators and viewers perplexed but a blunder meant that DK took a review in the 16th second. 

But in what turned out to be an anti-climactic end, the blunder turned out to be a helping hand for SRH as hawk-eye showed the googly crashing on to the leg-stump, meaning KKR lost their review. It was an unfortunate situation for DK, who was unnecessarily ‘forced’ into wasting a review by the on-field umpires. 

A life lesson for the KKR skipper right there - all help is not necessarily good help.

Why is the rule even made for??

Don't know what's happening in the year 2020

How can they allow them to take review this delay?/

No one is gonna accept this!

Hmmm :| :|

FFFFFFF

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here

SHOW COMMENTS drop down