IND vs SA | Anrich Nortje, Rudi Second and Senuran Muthusamy receive maiden Test call-up for India tour

no photo


IND vs SA | Anrich Nortje, Rudi Second and Senuran Muthusamy receive maiden Test call-up for India tour

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


South Africa have announced the 15-man Test squad for the three-match series against India and have included three newcomers into the team following impressive domestic seasons. Meanwhile, an inexperienced 14-man squad for the three match T20I series has also been named in order to explore options.

South Africa on Tuesday announced the 15-player list that will be travelling to India in October to play three Test matches as a part of the World Test Championships. The first five day match is scheduled to start from the second of October, followed by matches starting on the 10th and 19th of the same month.

Faf du Plessis will continue as the skipper while Temba Bavuma has been made second in charge for the series. Dale Steyn’s retirement has paved the way for Nortje to make his way into the squad after having missed the World Cup with an injury.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rudi Second finds his name on the sheet after having scored nearly seven thousand runs in first class cricket at an impressive average of 45. On the other hand, the turning conditions expected to be found in the subcontinent as per the norm means the Proteas have decided to go with an extra spinner in the form of Senuran Muthuswamy.

"All three newcomers to the Test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season's Four-Day Franchise competition. We feel we have covered all the options for the conditions we are likely to encounter on the sub-continent with Muthusamy and Dane Piedt, who was far and away the leading wicket-taker in our Four-Day competition, providing the back-up to Keshav Maharaj," CSA Acting Director of Cricket, Corrie van Zyl, was reported saying by Cricbuzz.

Meanwhile, the T20 team consists of 14 players and has various regular members missing out with an attempt to give the younger players a chance to prove themselves. Aiden Markram, Theunis de Bruyn and Lungi Ngidi were the notable names missing on account of the preparation match they will be playing for the ‘A’ team ahead of the Tests. Faf du Plessis’ exclusion means Quinton de Kock will lead the side with Rassi van der Dussen the vice-captain.

The three T20s are scheduled for the 15th, 18th and 22nd of September respectively.

"The T20 Series gives us the last chance to have a look at our leadership and batting options as the next edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup is now little more than a year away which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group. This is our last chance to do this before we settle on an established squad. Temba Bavuma and Bjorn Fortuin were two of the standout players in the CSA T20 Challenge last season while Nortje was outstanding in the Mzansi Super League until ruled out by injury. This is very much a form squad with players being rewarded for their consistent performances at franchise level. This applies equally to Junior Dala and Jon-Jon Smuts," concluded Van Zyl.

Test Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second.

T20I Squad: Quinton de Kock (c), Rassie van der Dussen (vc), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey