India's fielding woes have continued from where they left in the limited-overs series as team's premier pacer Jasprit Bumrah gave a life to Marnus Labuschagne on 12. It was as comical a miss as there would be because of the lengths of misjudgment by Bumrah on the boundary rope on day 2.
India fielding - two words that are nothing less than a horror story. It continues to haunt India and give sleepless nights to R Sridhar as the fielding woes continue to hamper the tourists. So after India fail to nail the right line and lengths consistently in the first few overs, Bumrah finally gets into zen bowling mode. It takes him few overs to trap both openers Burns and Wade in front of the wicket. Shami also tries to join the party as he bowls a brilliant bouncer to Australia's no.3 Marnus Labuschagne.
Much to India's delight, he completely mistimes the pull shot as the ball goes up in the air. Indian fans are rejoicing in the crowd already at the sight of a potential collapse of the hosts like was the case with India. But, hey the ball is still in the air, Bumrah is stationed at the boundary. It looks a simple catch from a distance but Bumrah jumps and misjudges the catch and the ball pops out of his hands and goes for a boundary.
In replays, it's evident that Bumrah thought that he was close to the fence and that's why he tried to jump which comes out comical as there was absolutely no need for that as such was the dolly nature of the grab. Australia's no.3 survives and leaves India and its supporters disappointed. If that came in as a surprise, India didn't do the best of jobs in the next two overs - when Prithvi Shaw back-peddling couldn't grab another 'easy' opportunity to give a cat-like life to Labuschagne.
Watch the video here: