IPL 2022 | Third umpire should have interfered with no ball call, fumes Rishabh Pant

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

RR won against DC in a high-scoring contest

IPL

IPL 2022 | Third umpire should have interfered with no ball call, fumes Rishabh Pant

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

04/23/2022

Rishabh Pant was not happy with the decision to not award a no ball in the final over to Rowman Powell and asserted that the third umpire should have intervened. Tempers flared in Mumbai as Delhi threatened to walk off in protest after the umpire refused to award a free hit on the third ball.

Delhi and Rajasthan played out yet another great game in IPL 2022 where the latter came off best in the game. Having batted first again, RR got off to a perfect start through the every reliable Jos Buttler who scored his third century of the tournament leading his side to 222/2 in their allotted 20 overs. In response, Delhi kept losing wickets at regular intervals but stayed in the game thanks to some power hitting by their top order. Eventually, it all came down to the last over of the game where Delhi needed 36. Powell hit three consecutive sixes but it was the third one that create havoc at the end.

After Powell smoked Obed McCoy for the third six, he turned and asked for a no ball since the ball appeared to be high. The umpires refused to award the same which led to Delhi threatening to walk off. Such were the reactions that Pravin Amre walked onto the field to have a word with the umpire while there were still three balls to be bowled. Pant acknowledged that Amre stepping onto the field was a mistake but added that the third umpire should have intervened in the game.

“I think they were bowling well throughout the game but in the end Powell gave us a chance, I thought that no-ball could have been precious for us but it is not in my control. Yes, disappointed but can't do much about it. Everyone was frustrated (in the dugout) that it was not even close, everyone in the ground saw that, I think the third umpire should have interfered and said it was a no-ball,” Pant said in the post match presentation.

“Obviously it wasn't right (sending Amre onto the field) but what happened with us is also not right, it happened in the heat of the moment. It was the fault from both sides and it is disappointing as we have seen some good umpiring in the tournament.

“It is disappointing to go so close especially when the other team has scored 200+. I think we could have bowled much better. I can tell the guys to keep their chin up and prepare for the next one.”

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here

SHOW COMMENTS drop down