AUS vs ENG | Twitter reacts to Jos Buttler’s DRS signal even before umpire announces his judgment

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Jos Buttler opted for DRS even before umpire's decision against Australia

(ICC)

AUS vs ENG | Twitter reacts to Jos Buttler’s DRS signal even before umpire announces his judgment

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

11/22/2022

Wicketkeepers play a key role whenever a team opts for a DRS as they witness the incident from the best angle possible. Jos Buttler displayed his immense confidence behind the wickets in the third ODI as he opted for DRS even before the umpire raised his finger for Steve Smith’s wicket.

Australia displayed a dominant batting display in the third ODI against England posting a mammoth total of 355/5. After the openers provided a brilliant start stitching a 269-run stand for the opening wicket, Steve Smith had the brilliant opportunity to capitalize on the situation and play an impactful knock. However, the ace batter experienced a rare failure as he had to walk back to the pavilion courtesy of a bizarre dismissal. 

Facing Olly Stone in the 46th over, Smith shuffled across the stumps on the third ball to attempt a ramp. However, Stone adjusted his length and delivered the Kookaburra on the shorter side. The veteran’s attempt to correct his shot was too late as the ball brushed Smith’s gloves on the way to the wicketkeeper. 

Jos Buttler appealed for a moment immediately after collecting the ball but the umpire did not raise his finger considering the lack of a collective appeal. However, the keeper was extremely confident about the snick and so he put his faith in the technology to back his belief. 

Even before the umpire announced his decision, Jos Buttler opted for a DRS review making his immense confidence about the dismissal known. The England skipper also reminded fans of MS Dhoni who had done a similar kind of thing a few years ago when he had opted for DRS even before the umpire’s decision, off the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah. Just like Dhoni, Buttler was proven right when the umpire raised his finger eventually and the batter had to take a walk back to the pavilion. 

What was that from smith?

Unlucky

Brain fade

Shameless

LOL

Yup

Very difficult

Could be a possibility!

Not very soon!

Gone for a toss

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here

SHOW COMMENTS drop down