No Indian finds a place in Alastair Cook's All time cricketing XI

no photo

Getty Images

No Indian finds a place in Alastair Cook's All time cricketing XI

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Former English Test skipper Alastair Cook named his All Time cricketing XI recently but sadly no Indian player was fortunate enough to find a place in his team.Meanwhile, AB de Villiers and James Anderson were the only players from the current crop to make it to Cook's all time favourite team.

The trend of naming all time favourite team has gained some momentum and the latest player to do so was English batsman Alastair Cook. However, Cook's choices could be heartbreaking for the Indian fans who would have expected the likes of Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar at least to feature in his all-time favourites.

Cook stated that he would pick only the players that he has played with or against during his career in his all time favourites team with legendary English batsman Graham Gooch being the only exception, owing to his world record for scoring the most runs in professional cricket.

The 32-year- old's team would open with his compatriot Graham Gooch, accompanied by the explosive Australian opener, Matthew Hayden, who had made a reputation of decimating the opponents bowling attack from the very outset of his innings. 

Further, the team's iron-clad middle order comprised of Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, and Jacques Kallis with the legendary batsmen coming out to bat in the order they prefer. Sangakkara and de Villiers were chosen to alternately take up the wicket-keeping responsibilities, depending on the coach of the legendary team.  

In the bowling department, Cook chose legendary spinners Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralitharan to lead his lethal bowling attack and stated that he needed no reasons for justifying his reason to pick up the cricketing stars. Finally, Cook's pace attack comprised of James Anderson and Glen McGrath both known for perturbing the opposition with the new ball swinging it both ways.

Here is the team:

  1. Graham Gooch(c)
  2. Matthew Hayden
  3. Brian Lara
  4. Ricky Ponting
  5. Kumar Sangakkara(wk)
  6. AB de Villiers(wk)
  7. Jacques Kallis
  8. Shane Warne
  9. Muttiah Muralitharan
  10. James Anderson
  11. Glen McGrath

INDIA vs ENGLAND! Will we make it on top? Start Predicting Today!

Play & Win Today! Click here here to download Nostra Pro & get ₹40 Joining Bonus!

Predict Matches & Win Cash!! Play NostraGamus on Android - predict ANY Sport & win upto ₹10 Lakhs! Click here to Download & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!