user tracker image

AFC Cup | Dhanpal Ganesh back in Chennaiyin FC for qualifying playoff

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


AFC Cup | Dhanpal Ganesh back in Chennaiyin FC for qualifying playoff

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Chennaiyin FC have selected Dhanpal Ganesh in their 25-man squad which was announced today for the upcoming AFC Cup qualifying playoff tie to be played in Colombo. The Chennai-based ISL team will take on Sri Lanka’s Colombo FC on March 6 while their home leg will be played in Ahmedabad on March 13.

The champions of the fourth season of the Indian Super League (ISL) – Chennaiyin FC will take on Colombo FC in Sri Lanka’s capital city on March 6. After completing their campaign in the fifth season of ISL, the franchise has announced a 25-man squad for the upcoming AFC Cup qualifying playoff game. Fit-again midfielder Dhanpal Ganesh, who was not a part of the ISL because of a knee injury, has been brought back for this important clash in Colombo.

Chennaiyin are grouped in the South Asian zone of the tournament and they will try to seal a spot in the group stage of the 2019 edition of AFC Cup. Colombo had earlier defeated Bhutan's Transport United by 9-2 goals on aggregate in the preliminary round.

The Brazilian trio of Alves, Eli Sabia and Raphael Augusto will be the three foreigners along with Australia’s Chris Herd as club’s only non-Indian Asian player for the qualifying encounter. 

Four youngsters Hendry Antonay (U-18 & B team), Zonunmawia (B team), Reamsochung Aimol (B team) and forward Bawlte Rohmingthanga (B team) are also selected in the 25-member team for the game. 

Goalkeepers:Karanjit Singh, Sanjiban Ghosh, Nikhil Bernard

Defenders: Mailson Alves (Brazil), Eli Sabia (Brazil), Zohmingliana Ralte, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Laldinliana Renthlei, Tondonba Singh, Hendry Antonay, Reamsochung Aimol

Midfielders: Chris Herd (Australia), Anirudh Thapa, Germanpreet Singh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Raphael Augusto (Brazil), Thoi Singh, Francisco Fernandes, Isaac Vanmalsawma, Halicharan Narzary, Zonunmawia

Forwards:Jeje Lalpekhlua, CK Vineeth, Mohammed Rafi, Bawlte Rohmingthanga.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey