user tracker image

ICC World Cup 2019 | Mashrafe Mortaza to lead Bangladesh with Shakib Al Hasan as deputy

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


ICC World Cup 2019 | Mashrafe Mortaza to lead Bangladesh with Shakib Al Hasan as deputy

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Mashrafe Mortaza has been named the skipper of the Bangladesh cricket team for the upcoming World Cup to be held in England and Wales from May 30. Returning from a finger injury, Shakib Al Hasan, who missed the series against New Zealand, will be the vice-captain for the World Cup.

The selection committee of Bangladesh has declared the 15-man squad for the upcoming quadrennial event and the most important news from the team selection is the return of Shakib Al Hasan into the squad. Shakib had missed the entire tour to New Zealand after a finger injury which he sustained during the final match of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The all-rounder has replaced Mominul Haque in the 15-man squad to be led by Mashrafe Mortaza

Bangladesh have also included the 23-year-old batting all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain who last played an one-day game back in September last year during the Asia Cup in the UAE.

"Mossadek did well in (recent) domestic tournaments. We want an all-rounder who can bowl off-spin. Mahmudullah has a shoulder injury, so he may not bowl over there (in the World Cup). As a back-up spin all-rounder, we included Mossadek," Bangladesh’s chief selector Minhajul Abedin was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

Pacer Abu Jayed, who has played only Test matches and T20Is for Bangladesh so far, has also been named in the squad in place of Taskin Ahmed. The chairman of the committee has informed that they have reports suggesting that Taskin’s fitness is not up to the mark for his selection for the World Cup.

"Taskin played his last ODI in October 2017 and it was a long break for him. When we thought about him again for the New Zealand series he sustained an injury once again. According to the reports we have, he is not fit. He represented (his domestic team) in one match but his fitness is still not up to the mark. He (Jayed) can swing the ball and we felt that can add value to our bowling attack", Abdein said.

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here