WATCH | Ravindra Jadeja commits same mistake in Delhi, gets embarrased yet again

no image
SportsCafe Desk
no image
no photo

There is nothing more frustrating in cricket than getting one's joy of wicket subdued by the umpire calling it a no-ball, and Ravindra Jadeja is quite used to it now. After claiming Karunaratne's wicket on a no ball in Nagpur, he did the same thing in Delhi, but this time it was Dinesh Chandimal.

After sitting out the limited-over series against Australia and New Zealand, Ravindra Jadeja returned to the national side in the ongoing Test series against Sri Lanka. However, though he has been effective with the wickets, he has still remained patchy in other departments.

After Jadeja was hilariously found appealing to the umpire after bowling Suranga Lakmal out in the closing stages of the fourth day, he found himself in an embarrassing situation yet again on Wednesday. This time he had started celebrating the wicket of skipper Dinesh Chandimal only to realize later that it was declared a no-ball by the umpire.

The incident occurred in the 44th over of the game when Chandimal was playing at 24 runs with a mammoth target to attain. Jadeja bowled a stunner as the ball drifted away from the stumps and pitched in the middle. Chandimal’s bat took an edge of the ball and hit the stumps.

Chandimal was glued to the crease as he played down the wrong line and was beaten by the drift. The delivery was so beautiful that even the batsman failed to understand what had happened to him. On the other hand, Jadeja started his celebration with team India also joining him.

However, as luck would have it, the umpire decided to check whether it was a no-ball and the decision came into the favor of the batsman as Chandimal let a sigh of relief. However, this is not the first time that Jadeja has been involved in this kind of incident. He had faced a similar situation in the second Test in Nagpur when Dimuth Karunaratne was on the other end instead of Chandimal.

Comments

Leave a comment

0 Comments

read previousLSG vs MI | Twitter buzzes as Rohit’s mid-break input to Pandya helps get rid of Pooran
Even when sidelined by injury, players can still make a meaningful impact. This was seen during the clash between LSG and MI as Rohit Sharma missed the game due to an injury but his inputs from the sidelines proved invaluable, directly contributing to a crucial breakthrough for Mumbai.
IPL 2018 | Teams can retain upto five playersread next
Teams will be allowed to retain a maximum of five players for the upcoming mega auction, the IPL Governing Council and the Committee of Administrators (CoA) announced today after a meeting in New Delhi. Teams can retain three players and will have a right to match for two others or vice versa.
View non-AMP page