user tracker image
newscricketa day ago

IND vs NZ | Rishabh Pant edges Wriddhiman Saha because of his batting, admits Ravi Shastri

Ahead of the Saturday Test in Hagley Oval, Ravi Shastri has said that Pant edges the experienced keeper Saha purely on the basis of his batting form. The Indian coach also admitted that the decision regarding Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja depends on the conditions and team combinations.
SportsCafe Desk
newscricket2 days ago

IND vs NZ | Don’t have any doubt about Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, insists Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane has thrown his weight behind Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, saying the team has full trust on what the duo has to offer and he backed them to come back stronger at the Hagley Oval. He has also added that playing the first session of the first day is the key to a good performance.
SportsCafe Desk
featurecricket5 days ago

A game of abject surrender gives India fans sense of deja vu

Does it seem like waking up to a dream or wearing that time travel machine to be teleport-ed to the days of early jitters? Surely, it didn’t seem like the team that had just won seven of their Championship games and decimated Australia on the latter’s home soil, just over a year ago.
Bastab K Parida
newscricket5 days ago

Legends and pundits react to India's first loss in World Test Championship

After a thumping T20I whitewash against New Zealand, India kept on disappointing every Indian fan with their shambolic performance in three-match ODI and first Test match. Cricketing fraternity took to Twitter to express their perception on Team India's drastic failure over Kiwis.
SportsCafe Desk
featurecricket6 days ago

IND vs NZ | Basin Reserve Day 3 Talking Points - Short deliveries, tail-enders and New Zealand put India in trouble

On Day 3, India’s familiar weaknesses came back haunting in away conditions - nagging tail, short deliveries and the ability to get a huge lead after conceding one in the first innings. For New Zealand, all boxes ticked - lower-order batting, short-ball plans and their tricks to get India reeling.
Aakash Sivasubramaniam
newscricket6 days ago

Twitter reacts to Virat Kohli convincing 'walking' Mayank Agarwal to take DRS for faint nick

Mayank Agarwal, after edging one down the leg-side to Tim Southee, was readily walking off the ground and was not entirely interested in taking the DRS. However, Virat Kohli convinced him with two seconds remaining on the counter but in the end, the ultra edge found a mini spike on the screen.
SportsCafe Desk
newscricket7 days ago

Twitter reacts to Virat Kohli’s ‘nasty’ send-off to Ross Taylor on his 100th Test

Like him or hate him, you cannot ignore Virat Kohli and his long list of nasty send-offs to the opposition batsmen in a crunch encounter. After praising Ross Taylor in the pre-match press conference, Kohli was seen giving a mouthful to Taylor on his way back to the pavilion in his 100th Test.
SportsCafe Desk
featurecricket8 days ago

Kyle Jamieson - of sticking to plans and reaping rewards on the go

A little more than two years ago, a young pace bowler, answers to the name Jasprit Bumrah, made his Test debut in a country that always favoured his breed. He bowled a ball wide outside off-stump, only to be scampered for an effortless four by AB de Villiers. For Bumrah, reality struck.
Bastab K Parida
newscricket8 days ago

IND vs NZ | Nothing has changed at Basin Reserve from 39 years ago, recalls Ravi Shastri

Head coach Ravi Shastri, who made his Test debut at the Basin Reserve — the venue for the first of two Tests between India and New Zealand — has said that nothing has changed from 39 years ago. Shastri also recalled moments from his first outing in 1981, which India eventually lost.
SportsCafe Desk
newscricket8 days ago

Twitter reacts to Kane Williamson’s comical cap chasing in Windy Wellington

Windy Wellington struck once again in New Zealand with a new victim this time, their own skipper Kane Williamson when he was made to chase his cap that was carried away by the wind. When they talked about the impact of the wind, it was not what we all visualized to be in Wellington.
SportsCafe Desk